Gather Your Materials
You can make kefir with a variety of milks – dairy, goats milk and non-dairy milk. Most milk-types are acceptable, including whole milk, fat-reduced, non-fat, pasteurized and homogenized. Fresh raw whole cow’s milk is delicious too! Please don’t use ultra-pasteurized milk when making kefir. Your kefir won’t do well. Many times organic milk that your purchase from a store is ultra-pasteurized, even if it does not say ultra pasteurized. So if you choose to use organic milk, make sure you know what you are getting and that it’s not ultra-pasteurized. The problem is that ultra-pasteurized milk is heated at high temperatures for longer than regular milk, causing many problems when making kefir. Remember that kefir will add enzymes and good bacteria to pasteurized milk and make it a new food but when it is ultra pasteurized or heated for long periods the milk is no longer viable for making kefir. Any other type of milk including raw milk that you get from your local farmer is still perfectly fine!
Non dairy milk can make kefir too, be it coconut, almond, cashew, oat, flax and more!
You will need a glass jar and we recommend a quart jar with a lid. Plastic lid is best, but a metal lid will work too. A spoon and a strainer is needed if you use kefir grains, but you don’t need them if your using Easy Kefir. ( see the next step)
Method 1: Live Kefir Grains
Method 2: Easy Kefir
Okay! Lets Make Kefir!
Get the Recipe
Now that you’ve gathered your ingredients and starter culture, click on the recipe you need for the method you chose. If you are using live kefir grains, watch this video or click this recipe. The video teaches how to make kefir with live grains, how to make kefir cheese, and how to second ferment your kefir. It also has lots of information about why kefir is so good for you.