Gather Your Materials
You can make kefir with a variety of milks – dairy, goats milk and non-dairy milk. Most milk-types are acceptable, including whole milk, fat-reduced, non-fat, pasteurized and homogenized. Fresh raw whole cow’s milk is delicious too! Please don’t use ultra-pasteurized milk when making kefir. Your kefir won’t do well. Many times organic milk that you purchase from a store is ultra-pasteurized, even if it does not say ultra pasteurized. So if you choose to use organic milk, make sure you know what you are getting and that it’s not ultra-pasteurized. The problem is that ultra-pasteurized milk is heated at high temperatures for longer than regular milk, causing many problems when making kefir. Remember that kefir will add enzymes and good bacteria to pasteurized milk and make it a new food; but when it is ultra pasteurized or heated for long periods, the milk is no longer viable for making kefir. Any other type of milk, including raw milk that you get from your local farmer, is still perfectly fine!
Non-dairy milk can make kefir, too, be it coconut, almond, cashew, oat, flax, and more!
You will need a glass jar – we recommend a quart jar with a lid. A plastic lid is best, but a metal lid will work too. A spoon and a strainer will be needed if you use kefir grains, but you don’t need them if you’re using Easy Kefir. ( see the next step)