Dairy Free Kefir

IMG_5617

Kefir grains have been around for thousands of years, and try as they may, scientist can’t replicate them. They can make all manner of synthetic drugs, but they can’t create kefir grains no matter how hard they try.Donna

Many people have found that even though they can’t consume regular dairy products, they can eat milk kefir no problem. This is because kefir eats the lactose in the milk and makes it 99% lactose free. So those who are lactose intolerant aren’t actually consuming the lactose in kefir, because it’s already been consumed by the kefir itself!

There are special considerations that you have to take when making dairy free kefir. Kefir grains do not survive in non-dairy milks long term. They grow and thrive by eating the lactose from dairy milk, and since there is no lactose in almond or coconut milk, the grains will need to be refreshed in dairy milk once a week or more. Leave them in a few cups of milk and let them eat the lactose out of the milk by making kefir. Then you can reuse them to make almond or coconut kefir again. The more often you do this, the more your grains will grow and multiply. It’s the lactose that keeps the bacteria alive and thriving. You can also rinse them in coconut or almond milk to remove the dairy if you are allergic.

Another option is to use your kefir grains exclusively to make non-dairy kefir and they should last many months this way. Then you’ll need to purchase more grains when they stop making kefir because of the lack of lactose. Non-dairy kefir can be just as effective as cows milk kefir and I have seen it help many people who otherwise would not have found the healing benefits of kefir . Many who were allergic to dairy found that after drinking non-dairy kefir they were no longer allergic to dairy or other foods as the kefir had healed their food allergies. One of the many things I love about kefir- the healing affects are many.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *